Sunflower Skins

September 22, 2008

Excerpt from “Re-Membering”

Filed under: prose — Tags: , , , , , , , — Sunflower Skins @ 12:42 am

Re-Membering

I cut out his heart first.

Then his eyes. The nape of his neck. His tongue.

After that I laid out all of my favourite parts, the ones I had loved best, formed them into a picture of what he used to look like. I kept changing the shape, making the heart centre and encircling it with the others, or twisting the useless, hanging veins into patterns like Rorschach inkblots or butterflies.

I broke his jaw so I could extract his teeth.

I skinned his fingertips and hung up the prints like stained glass.

And finally, I smashed in his skull so I would be able to see his brain. Hold it. Follow the folds of the frontal lobe and trace the contours of his cerebellum. Pull away the temporal lobe until I could pick out the amygdala and feel its hyperactive buzz. Find his mind in the mess of entrails that lay around me. I was knee-deep in blood and this is where I began my search.

He had asked me to do this to him. We loved each other more than life; we loved each other so much it transgressed into death. We wanted to know the dividing line. He asked me to find it.

Asked me to kill him.

For truth.

For soul.

Because in mortality we could never love each other enough.

[Order the full “Re-Membering” & “Acts of Omission” chapbook through www.myspace.com/sunflowerskins or sunflowerskins@gmail.com]

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

